Roles

These are the roles that are needed:

  • Can_read_assets
  • Web_can_view_versions

Optional Roles

These are optional roles that are needed to extend the functionality:

  • Can_write_versions
  • Can_delete_versions

API Links

Asset Versions API Link

Asset Versions

Assets can have multiple versions. Each version of an asset represents a new media file, typically that has gone through some changes as part of an editorial workflow, such as review/approve.

Viewing Versions

Asset versions are shown in the Asset's main page in the top row.

If there is only one version you see the text v.1 on a gray area. If there are multiple versions there is a small arrow to the right of the text which opens up the versions display.

To view a different version: 1. Open the versions display by clicking the version number 2. Select the version you want to see by clicking the date next to the version number. 3. The asset page now shows a different version than the latest.

When viewing a version that is not the latest, there is an indicator in the top row saying "This is not the latest version - Switch to latest" where you can click to get to the latest version

Creating new versions

To create a new version from the web interface you can do this in a couple of different ways:

To upload a new file as a new asset

  1. Click the New Version button in the top row on the asset page
  2. Select that you want to upload a new file
  3. Select the file you want to upload, just as you would on a regular upload
  4. Wait for the upload to complete and proxies to be generated
  5. A new version has been added

To use an already uploaded asset as the new version from the Asset page: (Note: You can only add a non versioned asset as a new version)

  1. Click the New Version button in the top row on the asset page
  2. Select that you want to use an existing asset
  3. Search for the asset you want to use as a new version in the pop up window.
  4. Click Select
  5. Decide if you want the metadata to be kept from the current asset or copied from the asset you selected
  6. Click Confirm
  7. Wait for the background task of merging asset to complete
  8. A new version has been added

To use an already uploaded asset as a new version from the search page: 1. Click and drag the asset to be used as a new version 2. Hover over the destination asset, you will see a text appear Add as Version, and telling you to press alt 3. Press the alt key and release the moust over the destination asset. 4. Decide if you want the metadata to be kept from the current asset or copied from the asset you selected 5. Click Confirm 6. Wait for the background task of merging asset to complete 7. A new version has been added

Promoting an old version

If you change your mind and want to use an older version as the latest, you can promote the old version.

  1. Open the versions display by clicking the version number on the Asset page
  2. Click the sub menu (Three dots) on the version you want to promote
  3. Select Promote to latest
  4. Wait for the background task to complete
  5. That version is now promoted to the latest as a new version.

Deleting an old version

If you don't want the media for an old version to stick around you can delete it:

  1. Open the versions display by clicking the version number on the Asset page
  2. Click the sub menu (Three dots) on the version you want to promote
  3. Select Delete version
  4. Wait for the background task to complete
  5. That version and all its media is now deleted.

You can also delete all old versions for an asset in one click:

  1. Open the versions display by clicking the version number on the Asset page
  2. Select Clean up old versions
  3. Select Clean up
  4. All old versions ands its media is not deleted

Adding new versions using iconik Storage Gateway (ISG)

The ISG supports adding versions by a suffix (Default _v# where # is the version number). This can be configured on the storage settings. See Creating storages

Adobe Premiere Pro Versions

You can also add versions using the Adobe panels. See the Adobe documentation

Learn More