Roles

These are the roles that are needed:

  • Admin
  • Can create groups
  • Can delete groups
  • Can read groups
  • Can reindex groups
  • Can write groups

User Group Administration

Users are typically grouped together into user groups. These match very closely to how the majority of organization group together users by department and job roles. For example Account Groups might need to have access to billing and usage information, whereas System Administrators need to have access to administrate Storage, and other IT systems.

iconik Groups can mirror those organization groupings, and/or Directory groupings but it also allows a user to be a member of more than one group at a time. So for instance a user could be in the Group for uploading new Assets as well as for adding metadata. But another user is only allowed to download and add metadata.

Roles on Groups

Each group can have associated to it one or more roles. These allow granular control of what members of the group are allowed to do. For instance, a user that is in groups is only allow to download if one of the groups they are a member off has the role download.

By organizing users into groups, and then matching roles to groups you can insure functionality is only available to those that need it.

Adding a User Group

  1. Click on ADMIN in the top navigation.
  2. Choose Groups from the left navigation bar by pressing
  3. Click on + NEW GROUP on the top right.
  4. Type in a Name for the new group.
  5. Choose some roles, such as search roles and asset roles
  6. Click

Change a User Group

On the Admin page:

  1. Choose Groups from the left navigation bar by pressing the groups icon.
  2. Select the group you wish to change.
  3. Select the field you wish to update.
  4. When done click on

You can upload a logo here for this group to see when they are logged in.

Delete a User Group

There are two ways which one can delete a user.

From the User Group's page

On the Admin page:

  1. Choose Groups from the left navigation bar by pressing
  2. Click on the group's name which you wish to delete.
  3. On the group's page, press the gear icon in the upper right corner.
  4. Click on Delete and the user group will be deleted from the system.
  5. Confirm that you want to delete the user by pressing

From the User list:

On the Admin page:

  1. Choose Groups from the left navigation bar by pressing
  2. Select the group which you wish to delete. Do not press on the name.
  3. Make sure the correct group is marked in the list.
  4. Press the icon next to the plus in the upper right corner.
  5. Confirm that you want to delete the group by pressing

More information on User Groups